MELBOURNE Sun 17/09/23 2:30PM Federation Square

ONLINE Sun 17/09/23 2:30PM Australian Digital Concert Hall

This program showcases rarely performed works for string quintet. It features three brilliant female composers from three different musical eras – Hildegard of Bingen (Medieval), Barbara Strozzi (Baroque) and Andrea Clearfield (21st century). Clearfield’s quintet, “Women of Cyprus” was inspired by courage, beauty and strength of the thousands of Cypriot women who marched in peaceful protest of the Turkish occupation in 1992. The final work is a string quintet written by the “Paganini of the Double Bass”, Giovanni Bottesini. Bottesini was a celebrated opera conductor (he even conducted the premiere of Verdi’s Aida!) and his expressive writing draws heavily from the Romantic Italian opera tradition.

Sophie Rowell VIOLIN
Emma Sullivan DOUBLE BASS
Members of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra

Hildegard VON BINGEN
O dulcissime amator from Three Antiphons (arr Marianne Richert Pfau)
L'usignuolo from Il primo libro di madrigali
String Quintet Women of Cyprus
Gran Quintetto in C minor