ONLINEThu 02/07/20 8:30PM Melbourne Digital Concert Hall

Described by Sir Donald Tovey described as “the most ethereal of Brahms’ larger works,” the second Sextet in G major is a major chamber music event.. In this rare performance it is brought to life by musicians of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra, with Strauss’ atmospheric Sextet from his opera Capriccio.

Musicians of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra
Markiyan Melnychenko
Natalia Harvey
Merewyn Bramble
Katie Yap
Michael Dahlenburg
Josephine Vains

MCO’s Winter Season performances are supported by the Peggy & Leslie Cranbourne Foundation, the Robert Salzer Foundation, and the Serp Hills Foundation. The Residency Partnership between MDCH and MCO is supported by the Helen Macpherson Smith Trust.

RICHARD STRAUSS String Sextet from Capriccio Op 85
JOHANNES BRAHMS String Sextet No 2 in G major Op 36

Explore & Discover

Concert Notes: Brahms Sextet

Read the program notes for Brahms Sextet and understand more of the background to the music in this performance.