The Gypsy Palace

Of course, there was never a gypsy palace. How could there have been? And yet, the old tales persist about the mystical palace, appearing at the top of the hill through the midnight mists… the wild nights! the dancing! the fiddle playing!…

Nearly 300 years ago in Eastern Europe, hundreds of gypsy melodies were collected for the Uhrovska Collection, providing a rare and unique snapshot of a folk tradition that existed alongside the courtly music of the Baroque.

In this evocative ensemble project, MCO Virtuosi director Rebecca Chan weaves a colourful and entrancing musical tapestry, tracing the spirit and energy of gypsy music across half a millennium of music. Witty dances by Telemann, virtuosic concerti by Vivaldi and Haydn and a spectacular string symphony of CPE Bach will transport you with their infectious vitality.

The Soloist

Rebecca Chan

Rebecca Chan


Rebecca Chan was born in Melbourne and grew up in regional Victoria. Her tertiary studies in violin were with William Hennessy at Melbourne University and Alice Waten at ANAM and Sydney Conservatorium. She has also completed degrees in Medicine and Arts.

Rebecca has been soloist with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Canberra Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Victoria, Melbourne Chamber Orchestra and the Mikkeli City Orchestra. She was the winner of the string section and Nelly Apt Scholarship in the 2008 ABC Young Performers Awards, the ANAM concerto competition and the Australian Concerto and Vocal Competition, and was a prizewinner at the International Citta di Brescia Violin Competition. She is a member of the Hamer Quartet, winners of the first prize, the audience prize and Musica Viva award in the 2009 Asia Pacific Chamber Music Competition. Rebecca has played as principal second with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, been guest concertmaster and associate concertmaster with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Auckland Philharmonia, Western Australian and Adelaide Symphony Orchestras and has played with the Australian World Orchestra. Rebecca was a member of the Australian Chamber Orchestra from 2010-2015 and is a member of the Melbourne Chamber Orchestra and the Australia Piano Quartet.

Uhrovska Collection
Gypsy Baroque selections
Suite in G minor La musette TWV 55:g1
Ave Maria (arr string orchestra)
Concerto for four violins RV 549
Cello Concerto in A minor RV 419
CPE Bach
String Symphony in B flat major Wq182/2
O dolce mio tesoro (arr string orchestra)
Carl Vine
Smith's Alchemy: III Finale
Violin Concerto in G major Hob.VIIa:4

Rebecca Chan Director

Standard $39–$99
Concession* $31–91
Under-40 $40
Child/Student $30
Group (8+) 20% off Standard pricing
*Commonwealth means-tested
concessions are eligible.