LAKES ENTRANCE Fri 11/02/22 7:00PM Lakes Entrance Mechanics' Hall

SWIFTS CREEK Sat 12/02/22 1:30PM Swifts Creek Hall

BRUTHEN Sat 12/02/22 5:30PM Bruthen Mechanics' Hall

The iconic work for string sextet, Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence is a feast of bravura string playing. Penned during the composer’s summer sojourn in 1890, its unique musical language fuses Russian melody and rhythm with the Western tradition.

In this performance, led by MCO Principal Natalia Harvey, Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir is prefaced by Victorian composer Ian Munro’s 2009 moving nocturne Black is the Night, inspired by the poetry of Judith Wright.

Ian MUNRO Black is the Night (2009)
Pyotr TCHAIKOVSKY Souvenir de Florence

This tour is supported by the Australian Government's RISE Fund and Touring Victoria.

Explore & Discover

Concert Notes: Tchaikovsky in Florence

Read the program notes for Tchaikovsky in Florence and understand more of the background to the music in this extraordinary performance.

Excerpt: Souvenir de Florence

Enjoy this snippet from the sextet performing Tchaikovsky's Souvenir de Florence earlier this year.
Courtesy ADCH.