Schubert Quintet

Prepare to be enthralled by the greatest work of chamber music.

In 1828, two months before his untimely death at the age of just 31, Schubert completed what would be his only string quintet. Unperformed for more than two decades after his death, it has risen to be admired as a work of extraordinary emotional range and great beauty, demanding exceptional skill from its performers.

This performance of the Schubert Quintet by members of Australian Octet is matched with Dvorak’s atmospheric Sextet and a newly-commissioned Octet from one of our finest living composers, Graeme Koehne.

KOEHNE Nevermore...*
DVOŘÁK String Sextet in A major Op 48
SCHUBERT String Quintet in C major D956
*World première season. Commission supported by the Robert Salzer Foundation


Musicians of Australian Octet
William Hennessy, Markiyan Melnychenko, Madeleine Jevons, Robin Wilson VIOLIN
Tobias Breider, Merewyn Bramble VIOLA
Paul Ghica, Josephine Vains CELLO

Explore & Discover

Read the concert notes for Schubert's Quintet by Prof. David Forrest.

Watch raw vision of Australian Octet performing Schubert's Quintet in Warrnambool on 6 October.