MELBOURNESun 15/11/20 2:30PM Melbourne Recital Centre

On Tour

BENDIGO Wed 11/11/20 8:00PM The Capital

WARRNAMBOOL Fri 13/11/20 7:30PM Lighthouse Theatre

MCO brings to life the virtuosity of Romantic string writing with a trio of brilliant Czech composers and a mighty violin concerto.

Dvořák’s Serenade is a beloved showpiece with the attention to detail of the composer’s renowned quartets, and the drama of his symphonies. Compatriots Janáček and Suk complete the picture with evocative works full of lush harmonies and folk-inspired inflections.

Glazunov was a Russian contemporary of Dvořák and his Violin Concerto is a staple of the virtuoso violinist’s repertoire. Ukrainian-Australian virtuoso Markiyan Melnychenko performs the show-stopping solo with MCO in a new arrangement for string orchestra.

JANÁČEK Suite for String Orchestra JW VI/2
GLAZUNOV Violin Concerto in A minor Op 82 (arr string orchestra Keith Crellin)
SUK Meditation on the Chorale 'Saint Wenceslas' Op 35a
DVOŘÁK Serenade for Strings Op 22

Explore & Discover

Explore the music on Spotify

Curious about the music we’ll be playing in Romantic Serenades? We’ve put together a Spotify playlist with selected music. Have a listen! (Free Spotify account required.)