Classical Visions

Proportion, balance, elegance—our 2016 season opens with four iconic works, offering four very different visions of Classical beauty.

Two of the most enduring works from Mozart’s artistic zenith showcase his extraordinary emotional range as a mature composer. Audience favourite David Griffiths performs the solo in the serene Clarinet Concerto, Mozart’s final concerto work, which is contrasted with one of his most tempestuous visions, the Symphony No. 40 in G minor.

Ravishingly beautiful French vignettes for harp and strings epitomise the clarity of spirit of turn-of-the century French music. Brilliant young harpist Melina van Leeuwen joins MCO to perform in Ravel’s sparkling Introduction & Allegro and Debussy’s Danses sacrée et profane.

The Soloists

David Griffiths

David Griffiths


David Griffiths is Senior Lecturer in Clarinet and a member of Ensemble Liaison, ensemble-in-residence at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music, Monash University. An active chamber musician, he has appeared with the Goldner, New Zealand, Tinalley and Flinders String Quartets, New York Wind Soloists, Australia Ensemble@UNSW, the Southern Cross Soloists, members of the Cleveland, Shanghai, American String Quartets. He has also collaborated with many leading singers and instrumentalists, performed at the Australian Festival of Chamber Music, Port Fairy Festival, Woodend Winter Arts Festival, and Pacific Music Festival (Japan).

David has held positions with the Melbourne Symphony, Macau, and Shanghai Radio Orchestras, and has appeared as Guest Principal with the ACO and all of Australia’s major symphony and opera ballet orchestras. He has performed with the Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Malaysian Philharmonic, New World Symphony, New York City Opera, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Manhattan Chamber Orchestra, China Philharmonic, Pacific Music Festival Orchestra and the Paragon Ragtime Orchestra.

“Griffiths’ silky tone and easy execution of the work’s sparkling virtuosity quite exceptional.” The Australian (February 2012)

Melina van Leeuwen

Melina van Leeuwen


A recipient of a National Undergraduate Scholarship at the Australian National University, Melina completed a Bachelor of Music in 2012 with a High Distinction average under the tutelage of Alice Giles. Previously, Melina studied with Xanya Mamunya and Jacinta Dennett. From 2013-2014 Melina was the harpist at the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM). In 2015 she received a Catherine Grace McWilliam Scholarship to complete Honours at Melbourne University, achieving First Class.

Melina has worked with the Australian World Orchestra, Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, Australian Youth Orchestra, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Inventi Ensemble, Forest Collective, Sydney-based Halcyon ensemble, and Australia’s Seven Harp Ensemble. She is a founding member of the Chrysalis Trio, formed together with flautist Kiran Phatak and violist Katie Yap. Melina has performed in both the Canberra International Music Festival and Bendigo International Festival of Exploratory Music, toured the 2013 ARIA-award winning ‘Conversations with Ghosts’ collaborative project of James Ledger, Paul Kelly and Genevieve Lacey, and was a featured performer at the 2014 World Harp Congress in Sydney, and at the 2010 World Expo in Shanghai, China.

Introduction and Allegro
Symphony No 40 in G minor K550
Danses sacrée et profane
Clarinet Concerto K622

David Griffiths Clarinet
Melina van Leeuwen Harp
William Hennessy Director

Standard $59–$119
Concession* $49–$109
Under-40 $40
Child/Student $30
Group (8+) 20% off Standard pricing
*Commonwealth means-tested
concessions are eligible.