MELBOURNE Thu 26/05/22 7:00PM Athenaeum Studio 2 (ADCH)

ONLINE Thu 26/05/22 7:00PM Australian Digital Concert Hall

Athenaeum $32–$44
ADCH Streaming $24

On Tour

DAYLESFORD Sun 29/05/22 2:30PM Daylesford Town Hall

Who said you can’t have another bite of the cherry? Or even just take another one?

The composer Brahms retired from composition in 1890, but returned the next year, inspired by the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld, to write four of the most extraordinary works of Romantic clarinet chamber music. Chief among them the quintet for clarinet and strings, an expansive, intimate and autumnal joy for audiences and musicians alike.

Melbourne composer Joe Chindamo is also no stranger to a career about-face. Not content simply being Australia’s leading jazz pianist, Chindamo has carved out an astonishing second act as a classical musician and composer. For this performance, MCO has commissioned him for a new clarinet quintet that’s sure to be full of his trademark verve and harmonic adventure.

We are joined by leading clarinettist Philip Arkinstall for these performances.

Joe CHINDAMO Principia Clarinettica
Johannes BRAHMS Clarinet Quintet Op 115