ONLINE Thu 30/07/20 8:30PM Melbourne Digital Concert Hall

On Tour

SALE Fri 31/07/20 6:00PM The Wedge

SALE Fri 31/07/20 8:00PM The Wedge

The arrangement of concerto works for smaller forces was not uncommon in the Classical Era, allowing the bourgeoisie to enjoy fine music at home. Stefan Cassomenos joins musicians of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra for a superb arrangement of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4 that circulated in the composer’s lifetime, with Mozart’s charming first ‘Salzburg Symphony’, written when he was just 15 years old.

Stefan Cassomenos PIANO
Musicians of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra
William Hennessy VIOLIN I
Natalia Harvey VIOLIN II
Merewyn Bramble VIOLA I
Katharine Brockman VIOLA II
Michael Dahlenburg CELLO
Emma Sullivan DOUBLE BASS

MCO’s Winter Season performances are supported by the Peggy & Leslie Cranbourne Foundation, the Robert Salzer Foundation, and the Serp Hills Foundation. The Residency Partnership between MDCH and MCO is supported by the Helen Macpherson Smith Trust.

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Divertimento in D major K136 Salzburg Symphony No 1
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 4 in G major Op 58 arranged for piano and string chamber group

Explore & Discover

Musician's View

Our Principal Bass, Emma Sullivan, gives her thoughts on Beethoven Concerto No 4.

Teaser: Beethoven Piano Concerto No 4

This Thursday 30th July 2020: Don't miss these amazing MCO musicians with Stefan Cassomenos performing Beethoven's Piano Concerto No 4 in a very cool sextet version. Streamed live on Melbourne Digital Concert Hall. Special thanks to Kawai Australia for loaning us a beautiful piano to rehearse this concert and Australian Nurses Memorial Centre for being great partners.

Concert Notes: Beethoven Piano Concerto No 4

Read the program notes for Beethoven Piano Concerto No 4 and understand more of the background to the music in this performance.