Bach Suites

Johann Sebastian Bach set a new precedent for the possibilities of every compositional genre. In the Orchestral Suites, Bach conjures a spectacular celebration from a simple collection of dances, with a musical language that is both cosmic and deeply human. Full of jubilation and the sheer splendour of sound, this is Bach at his most uplifting.

As poignant today as it was when it was written 300 years ago, the double violin concerto of Bach is a treasure of European art. Composer, conductor and national treasure Richard Mills turns 70 in 2018, and we are celebrating by commissioning a double concerto of our own. With the solos performed by our orchestral players, don’t miss this chance to witness the next generation of talent take centre stage.


Explore & Discover

Musician’s View

MCO’s Principal Bass, Emma Sullivan, gives her thoughts on Bach Suites

Concert Notes: Bach Suites

Read the program notes for Bach Suites and understand more of the background to the music in this extraordinary performance.

Explore the music on Spotify

Curious about the music we’ll be playing in Bach Suites? We’ve put together a Spotify playlist with selected music. Have a listen! (Free Spotify account required.)

You might also like...

Bach Concertos

Thu 02/05/19

Baroque Oboe

Thu 20/06/19

Schubert Mass

Sun 28/07/19